WordPress – Gutenberg Editor – How to disable it to use the Classic Editor?

WordPress – Gutenberg Editor, is the new WordPress Editor, which enables to add of rich content; allows to create media-rich layout; provide the features to manage the content in blocks; etc.,

As this Editor is not officially released; we may see some issues, when start using it. I started using it and faced some issues, and I disabled it, and again started using Classic Editor. I hope, once all the issues are fixed; Gutenberg Editor might be the good Editor to use to add rich content to your WordPress site.

In this article, I am going to explain; how to use Classic Editor instead of Gutenberg Editor; and also how to disable Gutenberg Editor.

How to select Classic Editor to edit the WordPress Posts?

Step 1. Before you start editing the post, when you place the mouse over the post on the Posts page; you will see the below links:

“Edit | Classic Editor | Quick Edit | Trash | Preview”

Step 2. Select “Classic Editor” to use Classic Editor to edit the post. You may see, below message before opening the Editor to edit the post.

This post was previously edited in Gutenberg. You can continue in the Classic Editor, but you may lose data and formatting.

Because this post does not have revisions, you will not be able to revert any changes you make in the Classic Editor.

[Edit in Gutenberg]   [Continue to Classic Editor]

Click on the “Continue to Classic Editor” button, to continue to use the Classic Editor.

Step 3. Now your post will open in Classic Editor; once you do with the changes, click on the Save Draft button to save your post. Observe that; again, WordPress prompts the message (mentioned in Step 2), whether to use Gutenberg or Classic Editor. This is annoying, every time prompts the user to select the Editor.

To avoid this, the best option is to disable Gutenberg Editor.

How to disable Gutenberg Editor?

Step 4. Go to the Plugins page and search for the Gutenberg plugin.

Step 5. Once you identified the plugin, select Deactivate option, which is under the Gutenberg plugin. Once the Deactivate option is clicked; the Plugin will be deactivated.

WordPress - Deactivate Gutenberg Editor
WordPress – Deactivate Gutenberg Editor

Whenever you save the post, you do not see the annoying message (mentioned in Step 2); to choose either Gutenberg or Classic Editor to edit the post.

Step 6. Also observe that, in the Posts page; when you mouse over the post; you will see only the below options (as only Classic Editor is available now.):

“Edit | Quick Edit | Trash | Preview”

Keep that in mind that, as Gutenberg Editor is still in beta; we are seeing some issues, but once all the issues are fixed; this is going to be one of the dominating editors in WordPress to edit the posts.

I hope this article, helps you. Please post your comments.

🙂 Sahida

WordPress – Gutenberg Editor – How to disable it to use the Classic Editor?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to top