Drupal 7: Adding and deleting Users

Drupal provides a simple user-interface to create or delete the users from Drupal system. User accounts are required to login into Drupal system to access Drupal functionality. In this article I am going to explain the steps required to create or delete the users.

Step 1. Sign-in into your Drupal based website as an administrator.

Step 2. Click on “People” link on top of the page. Drupal will display a “People” page, from where you can manage the users. “People” page will display with three sections:

Drupal - People page

Drupal – People page

  • Filter section, where you can filter the list of users based on their assigned role, permission or status.
  • UPDATE OPTIONS section is to apply operations (block/unblock, add role/remove role, and cancel) on the selected users.
  • List of users section will display the available users in the Drupal system.
    • At least one item must be selected from the list of users section, in order to update the users from the UPDATE OPTIONS section.
    • The data displayed in the list of users section can be controlled based on the selected filters from the Filter section.

Step 3. To create a user, follow the below steps:

Step 3.1. Click on “Add user” link from “People” page. Drupal will display the necessary fields to create a user.

Drupal 7 - People page - Create user

Drupal 7 – People page – Create user

Step 3.2. Provide name of the user in “Username” field.

Step 3.3. Enter the valid e-mail id in “E-mail address” field. This is required field to send the e-mails from the Drupal system. For example: if you forget your login password, Drupal system will send a reset password link to the registered e-mail id to change your account’s password.

Step 3.4. Enter password into “Password” and “Confirm password” fields. The strength of the password (Weak, Fair, Good and Strong) will be shown next to the “Password strength:” field. Strong passwords are difficult to break; so, it is always recommended to choose a strong password.

The password entered in the “Confirm password” field must be the same of the password entered in the “Password” field. Otherwise Drupal will display “no” text in “Password match:” field and doesn’t allow you to create a user. If the passwords are matched, Drupal will display the text “yes” in “Password match:” field and you are allowed to create a user.

Step 3.5. From “Status” you can choose either “Blocked” or “Active” options.

  • “Blocked” users are not allowed to login, even though the user got created.
  • “Active” users are allowed to sign-in into their accounts using their user credentials.

Step 3.6. Available user roles are displayed under “Roles” section.

  • You can choose at least one role by selecting the checkbox before the role name.
  • By default “authenticated user” role is selected, and you are not allowed to deselect this role. You are allowed to select any number of roles.

Depending on the roles assigned to the user, the user can access the features in the Drupal system.

Step 3.7. Select the checkbox “Notify user of new account” to send a notification to the registered e-mail id when the user got created.

Step 3.8. Once you have provided all the necessary details, click on “Create new account” button, to create the user with the given details.

Once the user is successfully created, the user entry will be displayed in the list of users section in “People” page.

Step 4. Follow the below steps to delete the user:

Step 4.1. From list of users section, select the user(s) you want to delete by selecting the checkboxes before the user name(s).

Drupal 7 - Select users to delete

Drupal 7 – Select users to delete

Step 4.2. Now from “Update Options” section, which is on top of the list of users:

  • Select the combo box. Drupal will display the drop-down list.
  • Select the entry “Cancel the selected user accounts” from the drop down list.
  • Click on “Update” button.

Step 4.3. Drupal will display “Are you sure you want to cancel these user accounts?” page, to allow you to:

  • Disable the selected accounts or.
  • Delete the selected accounts.

Step 4.4. If you want to keep deleted user(s) data, select “Delete the account and make its content belong to the Anonymous user” option; otherwise, select “Delete the account and its content” option from “When cancelling these accounts” section.

Drupal 7 - People page - Delete selected users

Drupal 7 – People page – Delete selected users

Step 4.5. If you want to delete these account(s), only when the user confirmed then, select the checkbox “Require e-mail confirmation to cancel account”. Otherwise, don’t select this option.

Step 4.6. Click on “Cancel accounts” button to delete the selected user account(s).

Step 4.7. Upon successful deletion, Drupal will display a success message.

Step 5. Go back to the “People” page, and you can find the selected user accounts are not displayed in the list of users section.

<Mourya>

Leave a Reply